Testimonial

Before I met God, I met Jia En. My girlfriend and saint who started sharing with me all the wonderful truths about our Heavenly Father. We met in Perth, Australia while she was studying there. Some mutual friends introduced us back in 2009 but it was God’s mysterious and sovereign power that actually brought us together. I was not a Christian then. I was a lost soul dead in my trespasses and sins. As I look back at my past, I felt there was no meaning in my life.

I dreaded work and indulged in many worldly habits. I was even an idol worshipper. I used to where a jade pendant of an ox around my neck, believing that it would bring me prosperity and luck. Oh, how deep I was in iniquity. I thank the Lord for making Jia En so persistent in stopping me from wearing it, and making me realise that it is only through the grace of God that we receive our blessings.

She would also ask me questions such as, “Do you think there is life after death?” I would reply, “Yes. I do believe there is something, but I’m not sure what.” Another question was, “Do you believe there is a God?” I would reply, “There are many gods, so why can’t they all get along. Why can’t we all respect each other’s beliefs?” I was lost. I could never really give a solid answer that I could stand by. I was always pulling answers out of the air, like a free spirit drifting in the wind.

It was through Jia En, reading the Bible to me and feeding me spiritual milk, that I would find out the truth to these questions. 1 Timothy 2:5 states, “There is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus.” This is one of the first verses I’ve learnt and one that I hold very close to my heart. At home she would tell me about how Moses freed the Israelites from Egypt and all that’s found in the book of Exodus. I was awestruck as she described all the miracles, curses, blessings and patience that God displayed. When she introduced me to Psalms, I was mesmerised by how beautifully they were worded and how truthful they really are.

I remember she would share with me in the car a lot. It was also in one of these car rides, to my parent’s house, that I would share with her that I believe Christ Jesus died for us, that He bore the weight of all our sins, and that I accept him as my Lord and Saviour. This was back in November 2010.

Since being born again, I look to God in everything I do. I rest on our Lord because it is said, “that man shall not live by bread alone; but man lives by every word that proceeds out of the mouth of the LORD.” (Deu 8:3) When deciding whether to move to Singapore, God showed us many signs and made our travels and transitioning very smooth.

I thank Him for all the blessings He has given us everyday. Most of all, He has blessed me with this wonderful Church (FCF) and a job for me to glorify Him through. I’ve met so many wonderful brothers and sisters here and I treasure every Sunday when I get to see them all.

I’m filled with joy and assurance, as I pass the very hospital I was born in, on my way to FCF. God is telling me: “This is where you should be and this your Church.”

For you are my rock and my fortress; Therefore for your name’s sake, lead me and guide me. Psalm (31:3)

