Luke 22 pt2

Vv20-34

Covenant of works and grace. Abrahamic covenant (grace)- bless his descendants. Covenant of creation (works) – tree of life. Noahic covenant (grace) – rainbow, God has withheld His judgement. Anytime we have breath we can turn to God. Gen 3:15. Mosaic covenant (works) – curses and blessings for obeying the Lord. Davidic covenant (grace) – Messianic line. 

The New covenant. Christ’s blood. The sign – The holy Spirit. Rom 6. Ephesians 1. 

Peter denied Christ. Suffering for a purpose. Trust in God’s sovereign will. 

Judas and Peter’s betrayal is side by side. Jesus prayed for Peter. Vv33 Peter will turn back to the Lord. A true believer. 

Jn 17:9 — Jn 17:12  I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours. All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them. And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

